

# American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) African American Advisory Council

Fort Monroe Visitor & Education Center 30 Ingalls Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23651 **Monday, March 31, 2025** 10:00 am - Noon

## AGENDA

**Call to Order** *The Honorable Mamie Locke, Chair* 

### Chair's Remarks and Introductions Eola Dance, Senior Advisor

#### **Discussion Items**

July 4, 2025 at Fort Monroe

Juneteenth events Gaylene Kanoyton: Hampton Juneteenth

Regional Events Melinda Gainer: American Music Collective/250

Open discussion/next steps Deliverables: Who, What, When

#### Advisory Council Members

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Chair, Senate of Virginia
Dr. Edward L. Ayers, President Emeritus, University of Richmond
Dr. Nathaniel L. (NL) Bishop
The Honorable Martin D. Brown, Chief Diversity Officer, Commonwealth of Virginia
Eric W. Claville, Executive Advisor to the President for Governmental Relations, Norfolk State
University
Alicia O. Cohen, Former Vice Chair, Loudoun VA250
The Honorable Winsome Earle-Sears, Lt. Governor of Virginia
The Honorable S. Bernard Goodwyn, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia
Connie Matthews Harshaw, Board President, Let Freedom Ring Foundation, First Baptist Church

Professor Ervin Jordan, Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia Dr. Maureen Elgersman Lee, Bray School Lab Director, William & Mary **Rev. William Lee**, *Pastor, Loudoun Ave. Christian Church (LACC) (ret.)* Patrice Lewis, Government Affairs Manager, Gentry Locke Attorneys The Honorable L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore, Senate of Virginia Rita McClenny, President and CEO, Virginia Tourism Corporation The Honorable Delores McQuinn, Virginia House of Delegates Dr. Cassandra Newby-Alexander, Professor of Virginia Black History and Culture, Norfolk State University Rohulamin Quander, Administrative Judge (Ret.), District of Columbia Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr., External Affairs Manager, Dominion Energy Phyllis Terrell, Director of Communications, Fort Monroe Dr. Vanessa Thaxton-Ward, Director, Hampton University Museum **The Honorable Luke Torian,** Virginia House of Delegates Cainan Townsend, Executive Director, Robert Russa Moton Museum James Warren, Founder and CEO, Share More Stories, JMI Vice President of Brand Strategy Dr. Gregory Washington, President, George Mason University Major General Cedric T. Wins, Superintendent, Virginia Military Institute