

American Revolution Commission (VA250)

Full Commission Meeting Tuesday, April 8, 2025, 10:00 AM General Assembly Building House Room A (Lower level)

AGENDA

10:00 am	Call to Order and Roll Call Chair's Remarks The Honorable Terry Austin
	Remarks from Vice Chair and National Honorary Chair The Honorable Mamie Locke, Vice Chair Carly Fiorina, National Honorary Chair
10:20 am	Approval of Minutes from October 15, 2024
10:25 am	VA250 Preservation Grant Fund Update Julie Langan, Virginia Department of Historic Resources
10:35 am	VTC-VA250 Marketing Leverage Grants: Round 4 Recommendations \$ Staci Martin and Noah Salaah ad-Deen
10:50 am	Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation Jamie Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture Christy Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation
11:00 am	Advisory Council Updates
	African American Advisory Council Senator Mamie Locke, Chair
	Tribal Nations Leadership Advisory Council Chief Stephen Adkins, Chair
	Education Steering Committee update Secretary of Education Aimee Guidera, Chair
11:20 pm	Staff Updates Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director

- Routine approvals: logo requests, electronic meeting policy
- America. Made in Virginia.
- Statewide engagement; Commemorative partners
- Development report
- Mobile Museum experience

Past events

- Salute to Southwest Virginia: 250th Anniversary of Fincastle Resolutions Roanoke History Museum: Saturday, January 18
- Opening of Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation VMHC: Saturday, March 22
- 250th anniversary of Patrick Henry's "Give Me Liberty" speech
 St. John's Church: Sunday, March 23
- o A Common Cause to All

The Williamsburg Lodge: Monday, March 24- Wednesday, March 26

- Save the Dates/Upcoming events
 - Two Lights for Tomorrow

Locations across Virginia: Friday, April 18 and Saturday, April 19

o Gunpowder Incident

Colonial Williamsburg: Monday, April 21

 Virginia International Tattoo: Tribute to the 250th Anniversary of the Army, Navy, and Marine Corps

Norfolk Scope: Friday, April 25

o 250th Anniversary of the US Army

Various locations: Saturday, June 14

o Juneteenth Freedom Fest

Hampton: Sunday, June 15

Locations across Virginia: June 14-19

July 4 at Fort Monroe

Fort Monroe: Friday, July 4

11:40 pm Other Business; Adjournment

Full Commission Meeting Dates: 2025 Interim

Tuesday, April 8, 2025

Tuesday, July 22, 2025

Tuesday, October 21, 2025

Thursday, January 8, 2026

Members

- *The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair, Virginia House of Delegates
- *The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair, Senate of Virginia
- *Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair

Jean Ann Bolling, Mechanicsville VA

*Jamie O. Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture

Dr. Douglas Bradburn, Mount Vernon

Gretchen Bulova, Office of Historic Alexandria

Gloria Marrero Chambers, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees

Dennis Clark, Library of Virginia

*Christy S. Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

*H. Benson Dendy III, Chairman Emeritus, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

David Duncan, American Battlefield Trust

*Clifford B. Fleet, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

Sue Gerdelman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees

^{*}The Honorable Alex Q. Askew, Virginia House of Delegates

^{*}Chief Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe

^{*}Edward H. Baine, Dominion Energy Virginia

*The Honorable Aimee R. Guidera, Secretary of Education

Peter Hedlund, Virginia Humanities

Dr. Jane Kamensky, Monticello

*The Honorable Paul E. Krizek, Virginia House of Delegates

Julie Langan, Department of Historic Resources

Jerri Marr, Colonial National Historical Park

The Honorable Elizabeth McClanahan, Former Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia

Rita McClenny, Virginia Tourism Corporation

*The Honorable Ryan T. McDougle, Member, Senate of Virginia

Eric Monday, Virginia Bar Association

*The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Former Member, Senate of Virginia

*Antone Pierucci, Gunston Hall

*The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum, Former Member, Virginia House of Delegates

Alyson Ramsey, Thomas Jefferson's Poplar Forest

Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary

Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Tribe

Jackie Stone, McGuire Woods LLP

*Member of Executive Committee

\$ Requires 2/3 vote