

# **Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission**

(VA250) Full Commission Meeting Tuesday, October 15, 2024, 1:00 p.m. General Assembly Building House Room A (Lower level)

1:00 pm Call to Order and Roll Call

The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair

Approval of Minutes from July 17, 2024

**Remarks from Leadership** 

1:10 pm VA250 Preservation Grant Fund Update

Julie Langan, Executive Director, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

1:20 pm Plans for 250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of George Mason's Declaration of Rights

Scott Stroh, Executive Director, Gunston Hall

1:30 pm Advisory Councils and Affiliated Groups

Tribal Nations Leadership Advisory Council Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Tribe

African American Advisory Council

Senator Mamie E. Locke

Education Steering Committee Secretary Aimee Guidera

VAM Museums Collaborative

Scott Stroh

VA250 Volunteer Corps

Carly Fiorina

Local VA250 Committees

Cheryl Wilson

1:50 pm **Development Report** 

Ben Dendy, President, Virginia Commemorations, Inc.

## 1:55 pm **Staff Updates**

Cheryl Wilson

- Independence Day: 2024 recap; Plans for 2025
- Analytics: VA250 By the Numbers
- Special License Plate (DMV purchase site)
- Brand Amplification; Logo Partners; Partnership with college athletic programs (Brian Shaw)
- Programs in development
- New proposals:
  - "Resolved to Live and Die: The Revolutionary Roots of Southwest Virginia"
    (Blue Ridge PBS, PBS Appalachia, Wilderness Road Regional Museum and Town of Wytheville Department of Museums)
  - National Scrollathon (VMFA)
- Executive Committee Actions
  - o VA250 Mobile Museum Experience: Out of Many, One
  - VMFA/JYF exhibition: Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation
  - o CY2025 Budget Review \$

## 2:30 pm Other Business; Adjournment

## **Upcoming Dates**

Lafayette's Grand Tour (Multiple locations, current)

**Bray School opening ceremony** (Friday, November 1)

Yorktown Tea Party (Thursday, November 7)

**250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Fincastle Resolutions** (Saturday, January 18, 2025)

Opening of Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation (VMHC, March 22)

250th anniversary of Patrick Henry's "Give Me Liberty" speech (St. John's Church, Sunday, March 23, 2025)

A Common Cause to All (Monday, March 24- Wednesday, March 26, 2025)

### **Next Commission Meeting:**

Tuesday, January 7, 2025: 10:00 am

\$ Requires 2/3 vote

#### **Members**

\*\*The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair, Virginia House of Delegates

\*\*The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair, Senate of Virginia

Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair

\*\*The Honorable Alex Q. Askew, Virginia House of Delegates

\*\*Chief Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe

\*\*Edward H. Baine, Dominion Energy Virginia

Jean Ann Bolling, Mechanicsville VA

\*\*Jamie O. Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture

Dr. Douglas Bradburn, Mount Vernon

Gretchen Bulova, Office of Historic Alexandria

Gloria Marrero Chambers, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees

Dennis Clark, Library of Virginia

\*\*Christy S. Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

\*\*H. Benson Dendy III, Chairman Emeritus, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

David Duncan, American Battlefield Trust

\*\*Clifford B. Fleet, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

Sue Gerdelman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees

\*\*The Honorable Aimee R. Guidera, Secretary of Education

Peter Hedlund, Virginia Humanities

Dr. Jane Kamensky, Monticello

\*\*The Honorable Paul E. Krizek, Virginia House of Delegates

Julie Langan, Department of Historic Resources

Jerri Marr, Colonial National Historical Park

The Honorable Elizabeth McClanahan, Former Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia

Rita McClenny, Virginia Tourism Corporation

\*\*The Honorable Ryan T. McDougle, Member, Senate of Virginia

Eric Monday, Virginia Bar Association

\*\*The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Former Member, Senate of Virginia

\*\*The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum, Former Member, Virginia House of Delegates

Alyson Ramsey, Thomas Jefferson's Poplar Forest

Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary

Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Tribe

Jackie Stone, McGuire Woods LLP

\*\*Scott M. Stroh III, Gunston Hall

#### Staff

Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director

Katherine Dabney, Senior Program Associate

Patrick Daughtry, Director of Major Gifts

Mike Frontiero, Chief Communications Officer

Trevor Grimm, Digital Media and Brand Director

Kate Egner Gruber, Director of Engagement, Interpretation, and Public Programming

Chris Hairston, Project Manager, VA250 Mobile Museum Experience

Jessica Kilgo, Chief Financial Officer

Lindsey McDade, Fiscal Technician

Susan Nolan, Director of Institutional Giving

Brian Shaw, Chief Development Strategist

Korin Taddei, Executive Assistant

<sup>\*\*</sup>Member of Executive Committee