

Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) African American Advisory Council

Fort Monroe Visitor & Education Center 30 Ingalls Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23651 Friday, March 29, 2024 10:00 am - Noon

AGENDA

Call to Order

The Honorable Mamie Locke. Chair

Chair's Remarks and Introductions

Welcome Remarks from Fort Monroe

G. Glenn Oder, Executive Director, Fort Monroe Authority

Remarks from VA250 National Honorary Chair

Carly Fiorina

VA250: Overview of Planning and Programming

Future Meeting Schedule

Possible dates: May 21 or 22

Discussion and Questions for Reflection:

What lessons can we learn from previous commemorations?

How do we make the semiquincentennial meaningful to all Virginians?

What programs should be planned?

What would you like to see occur during this commemoration to highlight African American history and culture? How do we get there?

What are the under-told and under-known stories that should be highlighted statewide?

What should be our next steps?

Advisory Council Members and Invited Participants

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Chair, Senate of Virginia

Dr. Edward L. Ayers, President Emeritus, University of Richmond

Dr. Nathaniel L. (NL) Bishop, SVP and Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, Carillion Clinic

The Honorable Martin D. Brown, Chief Diversity Officer, Commonwealth of Virginia

The Honorable Winsome Earle-Sears, Lt. Governor of Virginia

The Honorable S. Bernard Goodwyn, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia

Connie Matthews Harshaw, Board President, Let Freedom Ring Foundation, First Baptist Church

Professor Ervin Jordan, Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia

Dr. Maureen Elgersman Lee, Bray School Lab Director, William & Mary

Rev. William Lee, Pastor, Loudoun Ave. Christian Church (LACC) (ret.)

Patrice Lewis, Government Affairs Manager, Gentry Locke Attorneys

The Honorable L. Louise Lucas, President pro tempore, Senate of Virginia

Rita McClenny, President and CEO, Virginia Tourism Corporation

The Honorable Delores McQuinn, Virginia House of Delegates

Dr. Cassandra Newby-Alexander, Professor of Virginia Black History and Culture, Norfolk State University

Rohulamin Quander, Administrative Judge (Ret.), District of Columbia

Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr., External Affairs Manager, Dominion Energy

Phyllis Terrell, Director of Communications, Fort Monroe

Dr. Vanessa Thaxton-Ward, Director, Hampton University Museum

The Honorable Luke Torian, Virginia House of Delegates

Cainan Townsend, Executive Director, Robert Russa Moton Museum

James Warren, Founder and CEO, Share More Stories

Dr. Gregory Washington, President, George Mason University

Major General Cedric T. Wins, Superintendent, Virginia Military Institute

VA250 Leadership and Staff

Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair

The Honorable Terry Austin, VA250 Chair, Virginia House of Delegates

Chervl Wilson, Executive Director

Kate Egner Gruber, Director of Engagement, Public Programming, & Interpretation

John Hennessey, Interpretive Planner

Katherine Dabney, Development & Engagement Associate

Frank Sadler, Chief of Staff to Carly Fiorina

Korin Taddei, Executive Assistant