

Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) Tribal Nations Leadership Advisory Council

Colonial Williamsburg Inn – East Lounge Friday, March 15, 2024 10:00 am

AGENDA

Call to Order *Chief Stephen Adkins, Chair*

Remarks from VA250 National Honorary Chair *Carly Fiorina*

VA250 Mobile Museum Experience Update

VA250 4th of July 2024 Planning and Programming

VA250 Emerging Leadership Fellows Program

Future Meeting Schedule

Note: The Tidewater Collaborative 250 Planning Group and JYF have offered to host a summit later in 2024 related to Native Americans and the 250th. Academic panels looking at the latest scholarship and lectures/workshops to assist K-12 educators would be part of the event.

Discussion and Questions for Reflection:

What lessons can we learn from previous commemorations? How do we make the semi quincentennial meaningful to all Virginians? What programs should be planned? What would you like to see occur during this commemoration to highlight the history and culture of Virginia's Indigenous peoples? How do we get there? What are the under-told and under-known stories that should be highlighted statewide? What should be our next steps?

Advisory Council Members and Invited Participants

Chief Stephen Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe, *Chair of Advisory Council* Chief Frank Adams, Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe Chief Lynette Allston, Nottoway Indian Tribe of Virginia Chief Keith Anderson, Nansemond Indian Tribe Chief Walt "Red Hawk" Brown, Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribe Chief Charles "Bootsie" Bullock, Patawomeck Indians of Virginia Chief Mark Custalow, Mattaponi Indian Tribe Chief Mark Custalow, Mattaponi Indian Tribe Chief Mark Thunder Hawk Fortune, Rappahannock Indian Tribe Assistant Chief Will Gibbs, Chickahominy Indian Tribe-Eastern Division Chief Robert Gray, Pamunkey Indian Tribe Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Indian Tribe Chief Diane Shields, Monacan Indian Tribe

Jamie Bosket, President and CEO, Virginia Museum of History and Culture Christy Coleman, Executive Director, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Cliff Fleet, President and CEO, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Zach Jacobs, Assistant Secretary of Education

VA250 Leadership and Staff

Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair Delegate Terry Austin, VA250 Chair Senator Mamie Locke, VA250 Vice Chair Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director Kate Egner Gruber, Director of Engagement, Public Programming, & Interpretation John Hennessey, Intrepretive Planner Katherine Dabney, Development & Engagement Associate Frank Sadler, Chief of Staff to Carly Fiorina