

Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250) African American Advisory Council

General Assembly Building Subcommittee Room 700 South Friday, January 5, 2024 Noon – 2:00 pm

AGENDA

Call to Order

The Honorable Mamie Locke, Chair

Chair's Remarks and Charge to the Committee

Introductions

VA250: Vision, Goals, and Preliminary Plans

Discussion and Questions for Reflection:

What lessons can we learn from previous commemorations?

How do we make the semiquincentennial meaningful to all Virginians?

What programs should be planned?

What would you like to see occur during this commemoration to highlight African American history and culture? How do we get there?

What are the under-told and under-known stories that should be highlighted statewide?

What should be our next steps?

Invited Participants

The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Chair

Dr. Edward L. Ayers, President Emeritus, University of Richmond

Rev. Cozy Bailey, President, Virginia NAACP

Dr. Nathaniel L. (NL) Bishop, Senior Vice President and Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, Carillion Clinic

Sheila Coates, Founder/President, Black Women United

The Honorable Winsome Earle-Sears, Lt. Governor of Virginia

Chief Justice S. Bernard Goodwyn, Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Virginia

Toria Edmonds-Howell, Community Engagement Manager, Capitol One Michael Wassmer Innovation Center

Connie Matthews Harshaw, Board President, Let Freedom Ring Foundation, First Baptist Church

Professor Ervin Jordan, Associate Professor and Research Archivist, University of Virginia

Felix Sarfo-Kantanka, Jr., External Affairs Manager, Dominion Energy

Dr. Maureen Elgersman Lee, Bray School Lab Director

Rev. William Lee, Pastor, Loudoun Ave. Christian Church (LACC) (ret.)

Patrice Lewis, Government Affairs Manager, Gentry Locke Attorneys

The Honorable Louise Lucas, President pro tempore, Senate of Virginia

Rita McClenny, President and CEO, Virginia Tourism Corporation

The Honorable Delores McQuinn, Virginia House of Delegates

Dr. Cassandra Newby-Alexander, Professor of Virginia Black History and Culture, Norfolk State University

Rohulamin Quander, Administrative Judge (Ret.), District of Columbia

Margot Lee Shetterly, Author, Hidden Figures

Kaylene Seigle, Member, Harrisonburg School Board

Phyllis Terrell, Director of Communications, Fort Monroe

The Honorable Luke Torian, Virginia House of Delegates

Dr. Vanessa Thaxton-Ward, Director, Hampton University Museum

Cainan Townsend, Executive Director, Robert Russa Moton Museum

James Warren, Founder and CEO, Share More Stories

Dr. Gregory Washington, President, George Mason University

Staff

Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director

Korin Taddei, Executive Assistant