

Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250)

Tuesday, October 17, 2023, 10:30 a.m. General Assembly Building, House Room B

AGENDA

Call to Order and Roll Call The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair

Approval of Minutes from July 18, 2023

Chair's Remarks

Remarks from Carly Fiorina, VA250 National Honorary Chair

Update on Programs in Development

VHMC and JYF Joint Exhibition: *Give Me Liberty: Virginia and the Forging of a Nation Jamie Bosket and Christy Coleman*

A Common Cause to All: A Convening of States
Cliff Fleet
2024: Monday, March 18 – Wednesday, March 20
2025: Monday, March 24 – Wednesday, March 26

Law Symposium: The Legal Revolution: Virginia Leads the Way to Liberty, 1776-2026 Eric Monday

Library of Virginia *Transcribe* Program Sandy Treadway, Librarian of Virginia Kathy Jordan, Digital Initiatives and Web Presence Director

**Grant Recommendations

VTC: Staci Martin, Grants Director, Virginia Tourism Corporation Noah Salaah ad-Deen, Partnership and Marketing Grants Coordinator

VH: Peter Hedlund

Marketing Report Diane Bechamps, Vice President of Marketing, Virginia Tourism Corporation

Development Report Ben Dendy, President, Virginia Commemorations, Inc.

Staff Report Cheryl Wilson

- Plans in development and budget request
- o VA250 Mobile Museum Experience update
- \circ 250 Across the Commonwealth
- o Grant updates

- o Special label wines, craft beers, ales
- o Logo requests

Local Committee Profile: Portsmouth VA250 Committee James McCann

Public Comment (Sign up to speak: https://hodspeak.house.virginia.gov/about)

Other Business; Adjournment

Next meeting date Friday, January 5, 10:30 a.m. – State Capitol

Members and Invited Participants

The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair, Virginia House of Delegates The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair, Senate of Virginia Chief Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe Edward H. Baine, Dominion Energy Virginia Diane Bechamps, Virginia Tourism Corporation *Douglas Bradburn, Mount Vernon Jean Ann Bolling, Mechanicsville VA Jamie O. Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture *Gardiner Hallock, Monticello Gretchen Bulova, Office of Historic Alexandria Christy S. Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation H. Benson Dendy III, Chairman Emeritus, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation David Duncan, American Battlefield Trust Clifford B. Fleet, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation The Honorable Hyland F. "Buddy" Fowler, Jr., Virginia House of Delegates Sue Gerdelman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees The Honorable Aimee R. Guidera, Secretary of Education Peter Hedlund, Virginia Humanities Kathy Jordan, Library of Virginia Julie Langan, Department of Historic Resources *Jerri Marr, Colonial National Historical Park Eric Monday, Virginia Bar Association The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Jr., Senate of Virginia The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum, Virginia House of Delegates Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Tribe Jackie Stone, McGuire Woods LLP Scott M. Stroh III. Gunston Hall *Participating at the request of the Chair

Staff

Cheryl Wilson, *Executive Director* Elizabeth Mancano, *Deputy Director* Katherine Dabney, *Development Associate* Patrick Daughtry, *Director of Major Gifts* Randy Flood, *Chief Education Officer* Mike Frontiero, *Chief Communications Officer* Karen Gilmore, *Research Associate* Trevor Grimm, *Digital Media and Brand Director* Susan Nolan, Director of Institutional Giving