

# Virginia American Revolution 250 Commission (VA250)

Friday, January 6, 2023, 11:00 a.m. Library of Virginia Conference Rooms A, B, C

## **AGENDA**

Call to Order and Roll Call
The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair

Approval of Minutes from September 21, 2022 *Chair Austin* 

Discussion of Joint VMHC/JYF Virginia Exhibition Proposal\*\* *Jamie Bosket and Christy Coleman* 

Staff Updates

Programs in Development *Cheryl Wilson* 

- o Annual report to the Governor and General Assembly
- Local VA250 committees
- o Grant program and scoring rubric
- o "A Common Cause to All: 250th Kickoff Event" (March 10-12, The Williamsburg Lodge)
- o Report: For 2026: Revolutionary Legacies conference (October 28-30, 2022)
  - Commission's sponsorship provided funding for the pre-conference RevEd Teacher's Summit and webcasting/archiving of plenary sessions
- Mobile exhibition

Marketing and Communications

Elizabeth Mancano and Trevor Grimm

- o Website (VA250.org)
- o Marketing Plan
- Partnerships

Development

Patrick Daughtry and Susan Nolan

o Virginia Commemorations, Inc.

**Public Comment** 

Other Business; Set 2023 Meeting Dates

Adjournment

#### **Members**

\*The Honorable Terry L. Austin, Chair, Virginia House of Delegates

\*The Honorable Mamie E. Locke, Vice Chair, Senate of Virginia

Chief Stephen R. Adkins, Chickahominy Indian Tribe

Edward H. Baine, Dominion Energy Virginia

Diane Bechamps, Virginia Tourism Authority

Jean Ann Bolling, Mechanicsville VA

\*Jamie O. Bosket, Virginia Museum of History and Culture

Leslie Greene Bowman, Monticello

Gretchen Bulova, Office of Historic Alexandria

\*Christy S. Coleman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

\*H. Benson Dendy III, Chairman Emeritus, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

David Duncan, American Battlefield Trust

\*Clifford B. Fleet, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

\*The Honorable Hyland F. "Buddy" Fowler, Jr., Virginia House of Delegates

Sue Gerdelman, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation Board of Trustees

\*The Honorable Aimee R. Guidera, Secretary of Education

Peter Hedlund, Virginia Humanities

Kathy Jordan, Library of Virginia

Julie Langan, Department of Historic Resources

Jerri Marr, Colonial National Historical Park

Eric Monday, Virginia Bar Association

\*The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Jr., Senate of Virginia

\*The Honorable Kenneth R. Plum, Virginia House of Delegates

Katherine A. Rowe, William & Mary

Chief Anne Richardson, Rappahannock Tribe

Jackie Stone, McGuire Woods LLP

\*Scott M. Stroh III, Gunston Hall

### Staff

Cheryl Wilson, Executive Director

Elizabeth Mancano, Deputy Director

Patrick Daughtry, Director of Major Gifts

April Chatmon, Executive Assistant

Trevor Grimm, Director of Marketing and Communications

Susan Nolan, Director of Institutional Giving

## **Attorney General Representative**

Ramona Taylor, Senior Assistant Attorney General

## **Proposed Full Commission meeting dates for 2023**

Wednesday, April 19

Wednesday, July 19

Wednesday, October 18

<sup>\*</sup> Executive Committee member