Roanoke County

Roanoke County

Roanoke County

Chincoteague Lighthhouse


Roanoke County, named after the Roanoke River, was formed in 1838 from a portion of Botetourt County, and in 1849 a portion of Montgomery County was added. Most of the County was rural in nature and farming was predominate throughout the area, with the County seat and the County Courthouse located in the town of Salem. In 1888, the area known as Big Lick incorporated as the City of Roanoke.

After World War II, however, the County landscape changed, adding retail, manufacturing, office space, and residential subdivisions. The population greatly expanded as families moved to areas with more space and affordable housing choices. In 1967, the Town of Salem became a city, and although it remains the County Seat, both Salem and Roanoke are independent cities, and not part of the County.

Today, Roanoke County has a population of approximately 94,000 and its 251 square miles include the Town of Vinton, and the unincorporated areas of Hollins, Bonsack, Cave Spring, Mount Pleasant, Glenvar, Catawba and Bent Mountain. A diversified economic base helps provide security from market fluctuations, and County residents enjoy an outstanding quality of life, with many options for recreation, housing and entertainment.

Local Events

While there are currently no events listed specifically for Roanoke County, search the VA250 Statewide Calendar of Events for a comprehensive listing of programs across the state.

VA250 Commission


Madeline Hanlon

Skip to content